The Great American Chaco

Total area 1,100,000 km2 100%
Argentina 50%
Paraguay 35%
Bolivia 15%

The Argentine Chaco covers 600,000 km2, 22% of the country’s continental surface, and it involves ten provinces either partially or totally.

In Bolivia, the Chaco ecosystem covers an area of 127,755 km2, 11.6% of its national territory. It is divided politically and administratively into three departments: Chuquisaca, Santa Cruz and Tarija. It also comprises five provinces and 16 municipalities.

The Paraguayan Chaco and its 246,925 km2 represent 60% of the national territory and it comprises three departments politically and administratively.

In the Paraguayan Chaco

In the Bolivian Chaco

In the Argentine Chaco

Number of indigenous people in the Chaco region

Look at our presentation of the Chaco region